2019 Byway 136 City/County Trailblazers

$100 – City/County Trailblazers

City of Deshler
305 East Bryson Avenue, Deshler, NE 68340
Phone: 402-365-4260
Email: citydesh@gpcom.net
Website:  www.deshlernebraska.org
The City of Deshler is home to 747 people and centrally located in Thayer County. We offer a large City Park with free camping, pool, playground, picnic area, ball fields, and walking trail. Rattlesnake Run Disc Golf Course is also nearby. The Jennifer Reinke Public Library is our newest addition and offers a children’s reading area and a relaxing area for adults as well.

City of Nelson
580 S. Main Street Box 327, Nelson, NE 68961
Phone: 402-225-4401
Email: cityofnelson@gmail.com
Website:  www.cityofnelson.com
The city of Nelson is the county seat of Nuckolls County, Nebraska. The population was 488 at the 2010 census. The city was named for C. Nelson Wheeler, the original owner of the town site.

Franklin County
405 15th Ave. Box 146, Franklin, NE 68939
Phone: 308-425-6202
Email: clerk@franklin.nacone.org
Website:  www.franklincountyne.gov
Franklin County is a county in the southern part of Nebraska.  Its county seat town is Franklin. The county was formed in 1867 and organized in 1871. It was named after Benjamin Franklin.

Gage County
218 N 5th Street, Beatrice, NE 68310
Phone: 402-223-2338
Website: www.visitbeatrice.com
Gage County is home to 14 communities, and proudly boasts regionally and nationally recognized attractions, including the Homestead National Monument of America.

Nuckolls County
150 S Main – P.O. Box 366, Nelson, NE 68961
Phone: 402-225-4361
Email: clerk@nuckolls.nacone.org
Website:  www.nuckollscountyne.gov
Nuckolls County was formed in 1860 and later organized in 1871.   It was named after Stephen F. Nuckolls, an early pioneer in this area.  Its county seat town is Nelson.

Jefferson County
518 E Street – P.O. Box 274, Fairbury, NE 68352
Phone: 402-729-3000
Email: jcvc@diodecom.net
Website: www.visitoregontrail.org
Located in the “Little Blue Valley,” Jefferson County is rich in historic lore, the route of the Oregon Trail passed across the county and in some places the wagons ruts are still visible

Nemaha County
1824 N Street – Suite 201, Auburn, NE 68305
Phone: 402-414-0448
Email: nemahacountyvc@gmail.com
Website:  www.enjoynemahacounty.org
In 1855 Nemaha County was formally founded with Brownville as its county seat.  In 1883 it was moved to Auburn.  The Nebraska State Fair was held in the county at Brownville in 1870-1871.  In 1974 the Cooper Nuclear Station was commissioned south of Brownville.

Thayer County
225 North 4th Street, Hebron, NE  68370
Phone: 402-768-6126
Email: clerk@thayercountyne.org
Website:  www.visitthayercounty.com
Thayer County is the crossroads of old, the Oregon Trail, and new, US Highway 81, that connects Interstate 80 in Nebraska and Interstate 70 in Kansas.

Johnson County
P.O. Box 59, Tecumseh, NE 68450
Phone: 402-335-0745
Email: judyjeancoe@gmail.com
Website:  www.lasr.net/ne/joco
Johnson County was the Crossroads of Seven Historic Trails during the early years. Tecumseh is the home of the First Rural Mail Delivery in Nebraska.

Webster County
791 Hwy 281, Red Cloud, NE 68970
Phone: 402-746-2211
Email: greenacresmotel.2004@gmail.com
Website: www.co.webster.ne.us
Webster County was formed in 1871 and named after the statesman Daniel Webster. The county seat town is Red Cloud and is the home of well-known author WillaCather.

Furnas County
912 R Street, Beaver City, NE 68926
Phone: 308-268-4025
Email: clerk@furnascountyne.org
Website: www.furnascountyne.gov
Furnas County is located in southern Nebraska.  Its county seat is Beaver City. The county was named in honor of Robert W. Furnas, the second governor of the state of Nebraska.

Harlan County
311 Main Street, Alma, Ne 68920
Phone: 800-762-5498
Prior to 1870, the portion of the Republican Valley that now includes Harlan County was a prized hunting ground for the Native Americans. In 1871, a party from Cheyenne, Wyoming, led by Thomas Harlan, settled near Alma, which was named after a daughter of one of the settlers. Harlan County Lake has over 13,000 surface acres of water and nearly 75 miles of shoreline, making it Nebraska’s second-largest lake.

$100 – Corridor County Trailblazers

Pawnee County
Box 33, Pawnee City, NE 68420
Phone: 402-852-3131
Email: my.blue.heaven@windstream.net
Website:  www.pawneecountynebraska.com
Pawnee County is home to Amish settlements, stores and carpentry shops.
You’ll also find a variety of museums throughout the county, and Schilling Bridge Winery and Microbrewery

Red Willow County
502 Norris Avenue, McCook, NE  69001
Phone:  308-345-1552
Website:  www.co.red-willow.ne.us
Red Willow County was formed in 1873. It was named after the Red Willow Creek. The name is reported to be a mistranslation of the Dakota Indian name Chanshasha Wakpala, which literally means Red Dogwood Creek. The Dakota referred to the creek as such because of an abundance of the red dogwood shrub that grew along the creek banks. Its stem and branches are deep red in color, and it is favored in basket making.